Environmental Fashion By Anna Reid

 

Image

Clothes…we need em’ we want em’ we buy em’. This rings true for most of us (hey even nudists need to clothe every once and awhile!) Some of us are more interested in the fashion side of clothing in comparison to just throwing something on because you don’t want to go outside naked. In either case do we ever really stop to think if our clothes are making any impact other than looking fabulous and not naked? The answer more often than not, I imagine, would be no. Why would we? It is more about does it look good? Does it feel good? And can I afford it? This is my thought process anytime I go shopping. Recently though I came across a homegrown (Canadian) brand of clothing that is stylish AND is making a positive impact on the environment.

I was first introduced to this company when I was watching an episode of Dragons Den. Two young men from Saskatchewan wanted the Dragons to invest in their apparel company. What was so different about their company? For every article of clothing sold they would plant 10 trees. The company’s name……Ten Tree Apparel. Such a simple concept, but so interesting and unique. I have bought a sweater from this company and let me tell you it is so comfy! It instantly became a favorite in my closet. I definitely will be making further purchases. I honestly did feel good about buying it knowing that I was contributing, even if in a small way, to something that was going to help our environment. I had more questions though (how do they manufacture the clothing does it negate the good the 10 trees will do?) I found this article online and it answered questions that I had and ones I hadn’t thought of yet. Check it out at  http://www.uregina.ca/business/assets/about-us/news/2012/Degrees-Ten-Tree-Winter2012.pdf.

You can buy Ten Tree Apparel locally (New Liskeard) at North Country https://www.facebook.com/groups/282951258490936/?fref=ts (that’s where I bought my first piece) or you can go online to tentree.com.

Because caring about the environment is the bee’s knees!!